Member Country:Uganda



Year of Admission to FASU:1971

President:Mrs. Kabenge Peninah

Secretary General:Mr. Ssebuliba Patrick

Uganda is a landlocked country on the equator in East Africa. The country contains a varied landscape of savanna, dense forests, and tall mountains, as well as almost half of Lake Victoria, the largest lake in Africa, and the primary source of the Nile River. Kampala is its capital city. It is bordered by Kenya to the east; Sudan to the north; Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) to the west; and Rwanda, Tanzania, and Lake Victoria to the south and southeast. Uganda has a total area of 241,038 sq km (93,065 sq mi).

Uganda’s temperatures are moderate throughout the year. Except for its northeastern border area and small areas in the southwest, Uganda usually receives sufficient rain throughout the country. It is predominantly rural, with only 12 percent of the population living in urban areas. Kampala, near Lake Victoria, is Uganda’s intellectual and business center. The next largest towns are Wakiso, Jinja, Mbale, Masaka, Mpigi, and Mbarara. Great people like Winston Churchill referred to Uganda as the Pearl of Africa, while Her Majesty the Queen of Great Britain confirmed that it is gifted by nature, during the Common wealth Heads of Government Meeting in 2007.

Founder member

Cumulative Medal Standings

Gold: 0 Silver: 0 Bronze: 0